Question: Will I Lose My Photos If I Uninstall Google Photos?

How do I delete photos from my phone but not Google Photos?

SolutionStep 1: Open the file manager app on your device and create a new folder on the internal storage.

Step 2: Then using file manager again, navigate to Internal Storage > DCIM > Camera.

Step 3: Here select all photos that you want to delete from Google Photos and tap on Move.More items…•Jan 22, 2019.

Does deleting from Google Photos delete from phone?

On Android, deleting such photos will remove them only from your phone. So you will not be able to view them either in Google Photos or other gallery apps.

Do Google Photos stay forever?

Google will keep your photos as long as your account is still active. In one way, you could call it forever as long as someone periodically logs into the account (Gmail, YouTube, Drive, Photos, etc.). … If the account remains inactive, it could be deleted after that point.

Can anyone see my Google Photos?

The pictures uploaded to Google Photos are private by default unless you specifically share them with other people. Then they become unlisted, but public (kind of like your cellphone number). If you click on the shared album item in the dropdown menu you can see a list of photos that you have shared with others.

Is it safe to save photos in Google Drive?

When you upload files to Google Drive, they are stored in secure data centers. If your computer, phone, or tablet is lost or broken, you can still access your files from other devices. Your files are private unless you share them.

How do I restore my photos to free up space?

How to reclaim phone storage with Google Photos’ Free Up Space featureOpen the Google Photos app.Tap the three-line icon in the upper left corner.Tap Free up space.You’ll see a summary of how much space can be freed from your phone. When you’re ready, tap Free up X MB.May 21, 2018

Are deleted photos still in the cloud?

Deleted photos and videos are placed in the Recently Deleted album, where they remain for 30 days before being permanently removed.

What will happen if I uninstall Google Photos?

If you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, it will be deleted from everywhere – your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app. This will happen even if your Backup & Sync feature is on and whether you’re using an Android or iPhone.

How do I clean up my Google Photos?

Just open any photo or video you’ve backed up to Google Photos, swipe up, and tap Delete from device. This especially comes in handy for large video files — you might be surprised by how much storage you can free up this way!

Where do photos go when permanently deleted?

When you delete pictures on Android phone, you can access your Photos app and go into your albums, then, scroll to the bottom and tap on “Recently Deleted.” In that folder, you will find all the photos you have deleted within the last 30 days.

Can I delete photos from one device only?

Select one or more photos that are on the device. At the top right, tap on the “3 dots” menu icon. Select Delete Device Copy. The photos selected will be deleted from your phone, but the Google Photos photo will remain.

How do I delete Google photos without deleting them?

3 Answers. You can uninstall the “Google Photos Backup” from your device or simply sign out from the account in the Photos app. Then go to the web-version of Google Photos (photos.google.com) and delete the photos. Go to photos.google.com and login using the Google account you’re using on your device.

Is it safe to save photos in Google Photos?

Overall Google Photos is fairly secure. … People won’t be able to google for them. The pictures that you upload are only viewable by you — unless, of course, you share them with other people. But it’s always best to check some of the privacy settings and make sure it’s a level you’re comfortable with.

Why can’t I delete photos from Google Photos?

You need to clear the cache for the gallery app that is having the issue. For instance, if the problem occurs in Google Photos, clear its cache. If it’s some other gallery app, clear the cache for it. You should also clear the cache for media storage.

Where do backed up Google Photos go?

When you turn on Back up and Sync, your photos will be stored in photos.google.com.

Can I delete my iPhone photos once they are uploaded to Google Photos?

Free up storage on your iOS device Once you’re satisfied that your iOS device’s photos have been uploaded to your Google Photos account, you’re ready to delete them from your phone or tablet. You can either do this piecemeal through Apple’s Photos app, or you can use a built-in Google Photos tool to do so all at once.

Is it okay to uninstall Google Photos?

If you use the Google Photos app as a gallery app to view your photos and you didn’t enable the Back up and sync setting, then uninstalling it will not have any effect. That is, no photo will be deleted from your phone both on Android and iPhone after removing the app.

Do photos stay on Google photos if deleted from phone?

If you remove copies of photos and videos on your phone, you’ll still be able to: See your photos and videos, including the ones you just removed, in the Google Photos app and photos.google.com. Edit, share, delete, and manage anything in your Google Photos library.

Why did my Google Photos disappear?

It might have been permanently deleted. If the photo has been in trash for more than 60 days, the photo might be gone. It may have been deleted from another app. If you use another photo gallery, and deleted photos there, it may have been deleted before Google Photos was able to back it up.